• Changing RCF's index page, please click on "Forums" to access the forums.

Dayz - A mod for Arma II (PC)

Do Not Sell My Personal Information

CardiacCavs

The Winds of Winter
Reaction score
For those who don't know, Dayz is a pretty popular mod for the PC game Arma II. It is essentially a zombie survival game that is surprisingly realistic. In fact, it is pretty brutal. I think the average life-span is somewhere in the range of 4-5 hours of game play. You need to find food, water, weapons, and a bunch of other tools and items that can aid you in survival. However, when you do die it is a perma-death, meaning you lose everything that you had with you at the time. It is currently still in the alpha stage of being a mod, but the developer releases patches and updates to it fairly often.

I just started playing this with a few buddies and it is really fun. Playing by yourself can get a bit brutal, especially if you enter a server with a bunch of other players (who are much more likely to kill you on sight to steal whatever you have then help you). Plus, being an alpha mod, it is pretty damn buggy but you can look past those.

Here is a video that I think does a good job of showing you what it is:

[video=youtube;a3op-Q1o5RI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3op-Q1o5RI[/video]

Has anybody else given this mod a try? You can get it for essentially 19.99$. You can download arma II for free, but you need the Operation Arrowhead add on, which costs 19.99 on Steam.

This game is brilliant and I've been thrashing it for months

The average lifespan used to be like 15 minutes. If it's up to four or five hours the game must have gone all easy mode.

I just wish this game were built on an engine other than the ARMA II engine. The gameplay is so goddamn clunky and the controls are totally unwieldy for anyone who has played any other PC game ever.