1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. From courtside seating to loudville Amazing Tickets offers a fantastic selection of Cavs tickets at the cheapest prices found anywhere.
  3. Please select the "Splash-Mobile" style if ads are breaking your tablet/phone's browser.

Wait... I have a food allergy?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Randolphkeys, May 8, 2012.

1. Randolphkeys

Randolphkeys Admittedly Pompous Staff Member

This is a thread for discovering you have a food allergy... and the unpleasant repercussions.

I've always eaten pineapple. I fucking love pineapple. Usually it came to me in a jar with chunks of it floating in a plastic tub. I worked as a cook for a while in college and used this pre-chopped product all the time in Hawaiian pizzas.

Last Saturday, I threw a great barbecue for my young Thor's birthday. I diced two FRESH pineapples and served them as addendums to the skewers as well as grilled separately for the kids. I've previously heard that some people have adverse reactions to raw pineapple, so I thought I was being careful by serving grilled pineapple to kids. The freshly cut pineapple juice covered my hands and mouth.

I probably started feeling the headaches, fever, and sore throat right after chopping, but I was hosting a big party. I ignored feeling sick and started drinking beers. Six hours passed, and I handled all the raw meat, veggies, and pineapple with my bare hands. I served the cooked product with my trusty grilling tools.

Evidence exists on facebook of what I looked like after touching the pineapple all day... I look like fat early 80s William Shatner with a beard. My body was toxic and bloated. However, my kid was opening presents; I didn't notice.