Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 43
  1. #16
    Or Also Schtick The Oi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    30,272
    Thanks
    26,893
    Thanked 30,616 Times in 9,758 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Maximus View Post
    You'd give your two dogs and wife to own my synthetic penis mfg factory...
    The only thing I wouldn't give for that factory is my 90 day warranty on your product. This thing sucks.
    I am also known as Liberace.

    Taking up to 10 $10 bets LeBron does not return to Cleveland on his next contract. If you think he is, bet me $10.

    Proceeds will go to a charity or cause that we agree upon.

    BET SLOTS FULL- 6/28/2014

    Bettors:
    DougHeil, shoes22, warddj86, jonzee330, bushwick_bill, gourimoko, MalTalm, pr26. Vindicate2, Warren G

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to The Oi For This Useful Post:


  3. #17
    Not a **** was given Man Called X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    O-High-O
    Posts
    11,365
    Thanks
    13,155
    Thanked 7,431 Times in 2,378 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ChicagoCavFan View Post
    I'll piggy back here...

    My work laptop just contracted some Malware. Here is the write-up about it: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/viru...e-system-check

    Unfortunately, when I start in Safe Mode (per instructions half way down the window), there are still no programs - start menu is completely empty (except Log Off and Shut Down).

    Any ideas on how to fix? I'm planning on dealing with my IT dept in the morning, but I'm remote (work out of home). So I can't just drop it off and let them deal with it.
    I just fixed this problem a while back for someone. Your start menu is going to be empty until you run that Unhide.exe program at the near the bottom of the page. Once you've got the rootkit removed and malwarebytes removes that shit. That link should get you pretty easily through it.
    Why am I not allowed to have a center?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Man Called X For This Useful Post:


  5. #18
    Or Also Schtick The Oi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    30,272
    Thanks
    26,893
    Thanked 30,616 Times in 9,758 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    What's actually happening when you get a virus? As In function and purpose?
    I am also known as Liberace.

    Taking up to 10 $10 bets LeBron does not return to Cleveland on his next contract. If you think he is, bet me $10.

    Proceeds will go to a charity or cause that we agree upon.

    BET SLOTS FULL- 6/28/2014

    Bettors:
    DougHeil, shoes22, warddj86, jonzee330, bushwick_bill, gourimoko, MalTalm, pr26. Vindicate2, Warren G

  6. #19
    Or Also Schtick The Oi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    30,272
    Thanks
    26,893
    Thanked 30,616 Times in 9,758 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Goddamit. I fixed it yesterday and now it's blinking every minute or so. Every minute or so, t'll blink, go black for about 2-3 seconds and then pop back on immediately. It's just the main monitor.

    Any idea?










    EDIT: And now this stopped out of nowhere. Fuck, I'm becoming the new jonmchugh
    Last edited by The Oi; 03-12-2012 at 10:57 AM.
    I am also known as Liberace.

    Taking up to 10 $10 bets LeBron does not return to Cleveland on his next contract. If you think he is, bet me $10.

    Proceeds will go to a charity or cause that we agree upon.

    BET SLOTS FULL- 6/28/2014

    Bettors:
    DougHeil, shoes22, warddj86, jonzee330, bushwick_bill, gourimoko, MalTalm, pr26. Vindicate2, Warren G

  7. #20
    ~
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    20,425
    Thanks
    2,818
    Thanked 5,862 Times in 2,489 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ChicagoCavFan View Post
    I'll piggy back here...

    My work laptop just contracted some Malware. Here is the write-up about it: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/viru...e-system-check

    Unfortunately, when I start in Safe Mode (per instructions half way down the window), there are still no programs - start menu is completely empty (except Log Off and Shut Down).

    Any ideas on how to fix? I'm planning on dealing with my IT dept in the morning, but I'm remote (work out of home). So I can't just drop it off and let them deal with it.
    Sounds like you need a virus checker that includes or you can run off of a BOOT CD. There are various approaches if you want to go the free root such as preparing a UBCD disk (Ultimate Boot CD) or perhaps even using an Ubuntu boot CD. I haven't dealt with this, so I don't have a specific recommendation.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon For This Useful Post:


  9. #21
    Savior of Humanity InBoobieWeTrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    14,512
    Thanks
    5,932
    Thanked 5,145 Times in 1,405 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Jigo_oi View Post
    Goddamit. I fixed it yesterday and now it's blinking every minute or so. Every minute or so, t'll blink, go black for about 2-3 seconds and then pop back on immediately. It's just the main monitor.

    Any idea?










    EDIT: And now this stopped out of nowhere. Fuck, I'm becoming the new jonmchugh
    Sounds like a video card issue. Do you have a card or is it a motherboard with integrated graphics? I'd try reconnecting all connections, cleaning all dust, etc.

    If it's a card, try putting it in a different PCE slot (if you have one), or try taking it out and re-setting it in the current slot to make sure it's a stable connection and not loose.

    What power supply are you running? Is it hooked up properly to the video card/motherboard? How many watts is it(you may need more power...)

    Maybe also try re-seating your RAM. Make sure on reboot to check to hear if your motherboard beeps. The beep codes are meant to tell you what the issue is with your machine.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to InBoobieWeTrust For This Useful Post:


  11. #22
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Grayslake, IL
    Posts
    6,694
    Thanks
    3,270
    Thanked 1,909 Times in 550 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Thanks fellas. Our IT guy and I worked it out this morning. Used malwarebytes and unhide.

  12. #23
    Or Also Schtick The Oi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    30,272
    Thanks
    26,893
    Thanked 30,616 Times in 9,758 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Got a new issue now. FYI haven't had issues with the monitor going to sleep while PC operating. Not sure if it had to do with me clearing any dust out of there, but I did clear it.

    New issue is this...had to unplug my computer from the wall while some guys replaced our carpets. I work on dual monitors with my main monitor being plugged into the VGA port. My second monitor is plugged into the DVI port using a VGA to DVI converter. When I plugged the second monitor back into the computer, the monitor doesn't show anything.

    When I plug power into the monitor, but don't connect anything to the VGA port, it says "check video cable"

    When I plug power in, and then connect the VGA to the monitor while the other end is connected to the DVI it shows: "DVI scanning, VGA scanning" and then both come up with no result. Underneath that message it says Default DVI. After a few seconds, it then shows, "Monitor Going To Sleep."

    I've tried two different VGA to DVI converters, tried switching which end of the VGA cord that I plug into the converter, made sure both monitors work off of the VGA port (they do).

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by The Oi; 04-11-2012 at 01:28 PM.
    I am also known as Liberace.

    Taking up to 10 $10 bets LeBron does not return to Cleveland on his next contract. If you think he is, bet me $10.

    Proceeds will go to a charity or cause that we agree upon.

    BET SLOTS FULL- 6/28/2014

    Bettors:
    DougHeil, shoes22, warddj86, jonzee330, bushwick_bill, gourimoko, MalTalm, pr26. Vindicate2, Warren G

  13. #24
    Team Player Henry Tuttle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1,088
    Thanked 944 Times in 289 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Jigo_oi View Post
    Got a new issue now. FYI haven't had issues with the monitor going to sleep while PC operating. Not sure if it had to do with me clearing any dust out of there, but I did clear it.

    New issue is this...had to unplug my computer from the wall while some guys replaced our carpets. I work on dual monitors with my main monitor being plugged into the VGA port on my mobo. My second monitor is plugged into the DVI port using a VGA to DVI converter. When I plugged the second monitor back into the computer, the monitor doesn't show anything.

    When I plug power into the monitor, but don't connect anything to the VGA port, it says "check video cable"

    When I plug power in, and then connect the VGA to the monitor while the other end is connected to the DVI it shows: "DVI scanning, VGA scanning" and then both come up with no result. Underneath that message it says Default DVI. After a few seconds, it then shows, "Monitor Going To Sleep."

    I've tried two different VGA to DVI converters, tried switching which end of the VGA cord that I plug into the converter, made sure both monitors work off of the VGA port (they do).

    Any ideas?
    Assuming you're running Windows 7 and using a graphics card for the output that's not working, possible issues:

    -Windows isn't detecting the second display. Right-click on your desktop and go to "Screen Resolution" and click "Detect"
    -Video card drivers need updated
    -VGA to DVI converter is dead
    -Video card is dead

    It sounds like your second monitor has DVI output. If so, I'd recommend getting a DVI cable and going straight into the video card.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Henry Tuttle For This Useful Post:


  15. #25
    Or Also Schtick The Oi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    30,272
    Thanks
    26,893
    Thanked 30,616 Times in 9,758 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Henry Tuttle View Post
    Assuming you're running Windows 7 and using a graphics card for the output that's not working, possible issues:

    -Windows isn't detecting the second display. Right-click on your desktop and go to "Screen Resolution" and click "Detect"
    -Video card drivers need updated
    -VGA to DVI converter is dead
    -Video card is dead

    It sounds like your second monitor has DVI output. If so, I'd recommend getting a DVI cable and going straight into the video card.
    Yes, Windows 7 and e-GeForce 7600 GT.

    When I hit detect, it just shows 2. Display device on: VGA. If I click on that, nothing happens on the secondary monitor. I've tried toggling every option on that screen for the second monitor and nothing.

    Any way i could test whether the drivers need updated, video card is dead or if the VGA-DVI converter is dead?

    It seems like the port must be working because when I attached the other monitor to it with VGA, it worked just fine. Both ports work, so I assume it's PROBABLY something with the converter?

    Certainly no harm in just buying the cable and returning it if turns out something else is the issue.
    Last edited by The Oi; 04-11-2012 at 01:09 PM.
    I am also known as Liberace.

    Taking up to 10 $10 bets LeBron does not return to Cleveland on his next contract. If you think he is, bet me $10.

    Proceeds will go to a charity or cause that we agree upon.

    BET SLOTS FULL- 6/28/2014

    Bettors:
    DougHeil, shoes22, warddj86, jonzee330, bushwick_bill, gourimoko, MalTalm, pr26. Vindicate2, Warren G

  16. #26
    Team Player Henry Tuttle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1,088
    Thanked 944 Times in 289 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Jigo_oi View Post
    It seems like the port must be working because when I attached the other monitor to it with VGA, it worked just fine. Both ports work, so I assume it's PROBABLY something with the converter
    So you're saying you plugged the other monitor in to the video card and it worked? Did you have to use the converter? I was under the impression that the video card was DVI out.

  17. #27
    Not a **** was given Man Called X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    O-High-O
    Posts
    11,365
    Thanks
    13,155
    Thanked 7,431 Times in 2,378 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Why in the hell are you running one monitor from your mobo and one from your video card?
    Why am I not allowed to have a center?

  18. #28
    Or Also Schtick The Oi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    30,272
    Thanks
    26,893
    Thanked 30,616 Times in 9,758 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Henry Tuttle View Post
    So you're saying you plugged the other monitor in to the video card and it worked? Did you have to use the converter? I was under the impression that the video card was DVI out.
    Video card has one VGA and one DVI. So the main monitor is VGA- VGA right now and works. The other monitor I had been using the VGA- DVI converter to hook it up to the DVI out. It had been working fine until I unplugged everything and then re-plugged.

    I think I mis-worded the comment you quoted, because obviously neither one is working on the DVI out right now. The VGA out works just fine with both monitors was what I was saying.
    I am also known as Liberace.

    Taking up to 10 $10 bets LeBron does not return to Cleveland on his next contract. If you think he is, bet me $10.

    Proceeds will go to a charity or cause that we agree upon.

    BET SLOTS FULL- 6/28/2014

    Bettors:
    DougHeil, shoes22, warddj86, jonzee330, bushwick_bill, gourimoko, MalTalm, pr26. Vindicate2, Warren G

  19. #29
    Or Also Schtick The Oi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    30,272
    Thanks
    26,893
    Thanked 30,616 Times in 9,758 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by The Man Called X View Post
    Why in the hell are you running one monitor from your mobo and one from your video card?
    Ignore my above comment. I have no idea why I even included the word motherboard in my first post. They're both plugged into the e-GEForce 7600 GT
    I am also known as Liberace.

    Taking up to 10 $10 bets LeBron does not return to Cleveland on his next contract. If you think he is, bet me $10.

    Proceeds will go to a charity or cause that we agree upon.

    BET SLOTS FULL- 6/28/2014

    Bettors:
    DougHeil, shoes22, warddj86, jonzee330, bushwick_bill, gourimoko, MalTalm, pr26. Vindicate2, Warren G

  20. #30
    Team Player Henry Tuttle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    702
    Thanks
    1,088
    Thanked 944 Times in 289 Posts

    Default Re: Computer Problem

    Have you tried connecting to just the DVI port and leaving the VGA open?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •